top of page

The Overthinker’s Bible Study

THINK ABOUT THESE THINGS

We overthinkers can be glad that it’s more than okay to think a lot about the good things God’s Word tells us that we should think about—the things that are true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, and worthy of praise. But those are all rather subjective, aren’t they? Each person’s idea of what those are can differ greatly. And each person on earth has a sin nature that can skew it all too. The only person ever to live on this earth without sin was our Savior Jesus Christ. And so everything that is actually true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, and worthy of praise is whatever He says it is—and we learn all of that through relationship with Him and through the Bible, His Word.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, draw me close to You. Help me with my anxious thoughts. Show me what is best and right to think about and focus on, according to Your perfect Word and Your perfect ways. Amen


Philippians4:8-9

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭8‬-‭9‬ ‭KJV‬‬


WRITE AND ORGANIZE

Sometimes the best way to deal with overwhelming thoughts is to organize them well. I often write mine down on paper or type them on a screen so I have a visual. Another way I sometimes organize my thoughts is in a prioritized list of tasks along with a schedule to follow. Or it might be through written prayers and pleadings to God, telling Him my fears and concerns and then adding truth from scriptures to remember and apply to them. All kinds of beneficial, biblically based journals are available to help us take control of our thoughts and prayers and tasks, and to be more productive and intentional with them. God is not a God of confusion but of peace, and He will help us bring order and peace to our busy minds. He knows our every thought (Psalm 139:2), and we can let Him help us with all of them.

Prayer: Father God, I believe You know my every thought, and I’m in awe that You still love me endlessly. I’m so grateful. Please help me to keep my thoughts where You want them to be and in good order, not in chaos and confusion. Amen.


“For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.”

‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭14‬:‭33‬ ‭KJV‬‬


“Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.”

‭‭Psalm‬ ‭139‬:‭2‬ ‭KJV‬‬


BE PROUD OF WHAT THE LORD HAS DONE

Sometimes the root cause of overthinking and anxiety is pride. We worry too much about appearing like we never mess up or make mistakes. Or we feel pressure to look perfect and wear the latest fashions or name brands and have the most updated homes. Or we feel like we need to keep up and be the best—or at least better than those around us—in our work and other activities. God’s Word tells us many times that pride is a sin that can get us into lots of trouble. The only area where we should be proud about anything is being proud of what God does. He is the one we should point others to as perfect, certainly not ourselves. No person is perfect, and when we can be humble and honestly admit our mistakes and weaknesses and the ways we don’t measure up, we sincerely help show others the need for everyone to have faith in our perfect Savior Jesus Christ.

Prayer: Father God, help me get rid of self-pride. I want to be proud of You, and You alone. Help me to see how every good thing I ever do ultimately comes from You! Help me to show others both my need and their need for Jesus. Amen.


“But he that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”

‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭10‬:‭17‬ ‭KJV‬‬


STRENGTH LIKE A LION

We overthinkers sometimes look to the future feeling like we can’t handle any more challenges or hardships that will inevitably come our way. But God’s Word promises us supernatural strength, so of course we can deal with them and even thrive during them! Trusting in Jesus as the one who took away our sins when He died on the cross is what makes us right with God. And if we believe that and are living for Jesus, we have as much strength of heart as a lion. Our hearts and emotions can deal with any hard thing because we know that real strength comes from God alone. He is in us through His Holy Spirit. We can face any fear or worry without running away, because of God’s great power in us and love for us.

Prayer: Father God, I trust in Jesus as my Savior from sin, and I’m so grateful that makes me right with You! Thank You for making me strong and capable with Your awesome power. Amen.


STRENGTH LIKE A LION

We overthinkers sometimes look to the future feeling like we can’t handle any more challenges or hardships that will inevitably come our way. But God’s Word promises us supernatural strength, so of course we can deal with them and even thrive during them! Trusting in Jesus as the one who took away our sins when He died on the cross is what makes us right with God. And if we believe that and are living for Jesus, we have as much strength of heart as a lion. Our hearts and emotions can deal with any hard thing because we know that real strength comes from God alone. He is in us through His Holy Spirit. We can face any fear or worry without running away, because of God’s great power in us and love for us.

Prayer: Father God, I trust in Jesus as my Savior from sin, and I’m so grateful that makes me right with You! Thank You for making me strong and capable with Your awesome power. Amen.


“The wicked flee when no man pursueth: But the righteous are bold as a lion.”

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭28‬:‭1‬ ‭KJV‬‬


THE LORD KNOWS IT ALL

We can never keep our thoughts a secret from God. Not ever. Even before we say a word, God knows we’re going to say it. He knows every single one of our thoughts. He knows exactly what we’re doing and where and when. To some people that might seem stressful, but for those who love God and want a good relationship with Him through Jesus, it never has to be. God loves us more than anyone else ever could! And because He sees and knows everything about us—where we are, what we’re doing, what we’re thinking and saying—we should feel greatly loved and protected and cared for.

Prayer: Father God, thank You for loving me so much that You know all my thoughts and absolutely everything about me! Amen


“O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me. Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. Thou compassest my path and my lying down, And art acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue, But, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether. Thou hast beset me behind and before, And laid thine hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is high, I cannot attain unto it.”

‭‭Psalm‬ ‭139‬:‭1‬-‭6‬ ‭KJV‬‬


STRESS CAUSED BY STUFF

Stuff around our homes easily piles up, and sometimes having too much stuff causes us to overthink and have anxiety. The less we have, the less we have to overthink about! We can always be looking to purge and organize the items that are collecting around our homes. Jesus taught us to be careful, because we should be storing up riches for ourselves in heaven, not on earth. We can’t take one bit of stuff from earth to heaven with us, so we shouldn’t get too caught up in having it here on earth. What does it mean to gather riches in heaven? It means that God will be rewarding us with blessings that last forever in heaven based on the good things we are doing to bring glory to Him here on earth.

Prayer: Father God, help me to want treasure in heaven far more than any collection of “treasures” here on earth. Help me to use wisdom about what stuff I keep and what stuff I get rid of. Amen.


“Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: for where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6‬:‭19‬-‭21‬ ‭KJV‬‬


LET US NOT GROW WEARY OF DOING GOOD

Overthinking can tire us out. And if we’re not careful, it is really easy to get tired of doing good and making the right choices to obey God. Our enemy wants us to think it’s too hard, too exhausting, to follow Jesus. Making bad choices and acting selfishly seems the easy, comfortable way a lot of the time. And sometimes it is a lot easier at first, but in the long run it will cause us all kinds of anxiety and consequences. God’s ways are always best for us. And He will help us not to get worn out if we ask Him. He can give us everything we need for doing the good things He has planned for us.

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.”

‭‭Galatians‬ ‭6‬:‭9‬-‭10to do the good things He has planned for us.





Prayer: Father God, help me to find all strength and endurance and everything I need in You so that I never tire of doing good and never give up. Amen.

Was this plan helpful? We adapted it from the book The Overthinker's Devotionals by JoAnne Simmons


This is a Bible study Devotional I just completed. I wanted to share it with you praying that God will speak to you through His living Word. God bless you.🕊️🙏🏾



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Watching The Chosen

Watching The Chosen for the first time without commercials was very good. I enjoyed it. Seeing what Mary and Joseph went through to bring...

Comentarios


About Me

1487976310650.jpg

I am Shaunelius, and I have been in ministry for eight years. I have five beautiful children and a beautiful grandson. I love sharing God's Word. I enjoy giving inspiration. I enjoy spending time with those I love. 

Stepping Out On Faith Trusting God.

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

Spiritual Well-Being

Taking care of your spiritual well-being is crucial for a healthy and fulfilling life. It allows you to connect with your inner self, find meaning and purpose, and cultivate a sense of peace and harmony. By prioritizing your spiritual health, you can enhance your overall well-being and live a more balanced and joyful life.

Grow Your Vision

Growing your spiritual vision can be a transformative experience. By exploring your beliefs and connecting with your inner self, you can gain a deeper understanding of your purpose and the world around you. Whether through meditation, prayer, or other practices, taking the time to nurture your spiritual growth can lead to greater peace, clarity, and fulfillment in your life.

bottom of page