top of page
Leaving your feedback about what you thought about the services provided always helps to make services better...

LA'Brea A.

For Your Mental Health and Well-Being Part Two: The Feelings That Seasons Bring

Updated: Jul 29, 2023

When I think about mental health issues, I think about how sometimes one's attitude can change due to the seasons. Some seasons make people feel happy while others make people feel sad and stressed out with anxiety. Things may happen in the life of a person that they can't get over, and when that particular season comes it triggers emotional feelings. When that happens, whatever happened replays in that person's thoughts as if it just happened. It's something that they've never gotten over, or let go of. It could have been the loss of a loved one or the loss of a job, business, or home. Whatever the case may be it still hurts.


There are those who don't celebrate holidays just because of it; it's hard for them to have joy in their hearts because of the pain they feel deep within. When that happens, one should find ways to trigger good thoughts. One must not dwell on hurt and pain, but anxiety makes it hard to do so. I can talk about this subject because I have experienced it for many years, and even now. For instance, Valentine's Day will never be the same for me because I lost someone I have loved all of my life, someone who was there for me, taught me many things about how to survive, and what I could eat and not eat if I was ever in the woods. Someone who taught me how to grow things, how to make things with my hands, and who taught me all about God. Every year when Valentine's Day came this year, it wasn't easy for me to celebrate it like I always have. My heart was broken all over again as if it was just happening for the first time. As the years come and goes, I will heal. It is going to take time for me to get over what happened. The anxiety of it is very real. Every emotion is real. The anger is very real, but I find ways to help me to get through what I am feeling.

I am talking about this to show you that seasons trigger feelings that were once buried deep within. What we hold on to is what we think about most. What we let go of we don't think about ever.


Seasons can also bring happiness and good memories for some. Again, for instance; when I got my driver's permit for the first time, it was Summer when that happened for me. I was so excited! I could not stop smiling. I knew that I was becoming a motorist on the highway for the first time in my life; that was about fifteen years ago. When I took my road test and passed it, that was even better. I was so overjoyed. I couldn't stop smiling; I was crying tears of joy. See, seasons for everyone is different. This is why I used myself as an example of how seasons can affect someone and the things that happened in them.

We all have things that we remember when the seasons come and go. I choose to remember the good things so I will not have to deal with the stress, depression, and anxiety that it could bring. So, when you feel like the season has brought back a bad memory, try to find something you enjoy doing and do it to take your mind off of the bad memory.


Stress-Pressure or tension exerted on a material object. (2.) A state of mental or emotional strain or tension resulting from adverse or very demanding circumstances.


Depression-Feelings of severe despondency and dejection. A mental condition characterized by feelings of severe despondency and dejection, typically also with feelings of inadequacy and guilt, often accompanied by lack of energy and disturbance of appetite and sleep.


Anxiety-A feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome. (2). Desire to do something, typically accompanied by unease. (3). A mental condition characterized by excessive apprehensiveness about real or perceived threats, typically leading to avoidance behaviors and often to physical symptoms such as increased heart rate and muscle tension.


These are the meanings of these words I looked up on Google. I talk about these subjects a lot. I wanted to add these here to better help you understand what I am talking about. To your mental health.


Disclaimer: This article is not meant to treat, or heal any kind of disease, or treatment. It has not been approved by the FDA. This article and video are for informational and educational purposes only. They are my own thoughts and experiences. If you feel like you need help controlling your stress, depression, and anxiety, please consult your healthcare provider, or your local mental institution for the help you need. Thank you. -L.A.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Should You Do When Anxiety Attacks? Part Three

Scripture: Psalms 34:1-I will bless the Lord at all times: his praises shall continually be in my mouth. Trials come to make us strong, but do we still praise God when they do, or do we blame Him for

What Should You Do When Anxiety Attacks? Part Two

Psalm 46:1-God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble. We all know that trials come to make us strong, but what should we do when anxiety attacks? Who do we turn to? Do we keep wha

bottom of page